Sometimes all you need is music….

Have you ever pitied yourself because you cannot play music? Or sing? There’s not a single right tone despite knowing every sound of the guitars, the drums, the bass (etc.) of all the songs of all the bands and musicians you love. It used to make me sad. But not anymore. I realized that everyone has her/his own way of appreciating music. I’m sure you’re thinking about all the headbanging, moshing, jumping, waving and last but definitely not least screaming on concerts, festivals and small gigs you’ve been part of so far. That works perfectly fine. Some may say it’s the most enjoyable form of appreciating music.

But it wasn’t enough for me. After all the failed attempts to start playing guitar, bongos, harmonica and even the tin whistle I just had to give up. But then one day I looked at the charts of the music I’ve listened to since the beginning of 2006 and I realized that for 6 years I have listened to more than 80 000 tracks from more than 4000 different artist (LONG LIVE last.fm!!!).

But even that didn’t help me overcome my chronic sadness for the fact that I just don’t have the talent. I needed to do something more. I needed to find the music within myself.

And then it came to me. It was as sudden as a rain storm in July. I had been doing it almost all my life. I had the music in me, I just had to realized it.

And it was there all along.

I take pictures of musicians. Mostly buskers, but I just can’t help it. It’s like a natural urge to me. I won’t be able to count all the pictures of musicians I have taken. I wouldn’t even try, but that’s another thing.

And now my mind’s at rest…..

Leave a Reply

